DELSU Academic Calendar For 2023/2024 Session

DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY’S (DELSU) COMPREHENSIVE ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR 2023/2024 ACADEMIC SESSION.

Looking to navigate the 2023/2024 academic session at Delta State University with ease? When do lectures start? When are the exams? Dive in to discover key dates and activities that mould the academic year.


Located in Abraka, Nigeria, the Delta State University (DELSU) stands out as an academic beacon. As the 2023/2024 academic session approaches, current and prospective students alike eagerly anticipate the array of activities set to shape their academic journey. This article provides a meticulous breakdown of DELSU’s academic itinerary for the upcoming session.

📌 Start Date Sunday, November 12, 2023: Fresh students resume on Campus
📖 Lectures Begin Monday, November 20, 2023: Lectures for all students begin
🎓 Matriculation Friday, December 16, 2023: Matriculation of Fresh students
❌ End of Applications Saturday, December 22, 2023: End of Applications for Resumption of Studies
📝 Exams Start Monday, February 26, 2024: First Semester Examinations begin
🏁 Exams End Friday, March 22, 2024: First Semester Examinations end
🏖️ Break Monday, March 25, 2024 – Friday, April 5, 2024: First Semester Break (Two weeks)
🔄 Second Semester Sunday, April 7, 2024: All students return to campus

First Semester: Key Dates and Activities

Commencement of Academic Activities

  • Sunday, November 12, 2023: Fresh students are expected to resume on campus, marking the beginning of an exhilarating academic adventure.
  • Monday, November 13, 2023: Medicals and screening processes for these fresh students get underway.

Resumption and Registration

  • Sunday, November 19, 2023: Old students make their triumphant return to campus.
  • Monday, November 20, 2023: Registration of courses begins for all students. This date also marks the commencement of lectures, setting the academic tone for the session.

Orientation and Matriculation

  • Wednesday, December 13, 2023: An orientation programme is held, tailored specifically for the fresh students.
  • Friday, December 15, 2023: A landmark event, the Matriculation ceremony sees fresh students formally inducted into the DELSU community.

End of Year Activities

  • Saturday, December 16, 2023: Applications for the Resumption of Studies come to a close.
  • Friday, January 5, 2024: The window for course registration closes, while penalties for late registration come into effect from Monday, January 8, 2024.

Noteworthy Administrative Dates

  • Friday, January 19, 2024: Last day for course additions or deletions. This date also marks the end of temporary withdrawal or deferment.
  • Friday, February 16, 2024: A critical academic milestone, the deadline for submission of Continuous Assessment (CA) scores to respective Heads of Departments (HODs) is set.

Examination Period

  • Monday, February 26, 2024: The First Semester Examinations commence.
  • Friday, March 22, 2024: Examinations conclude, ushering in the First Semester Break which spans two weeks.

Second Semester: A Glimpse into the Academic Line-up

Kick-off and Continuation

  • Sunday, April 7, 2024: All students are beckoned back to campus.
  • Monday, April 8, 2024: Lectures commence without delay, setting the academic tempo for the second semester.

Senate Consideration and Result Submission

  • Wednesday, May 29, 2024: The Senate commences its review of the first semester results.
  • Friday, June 21, 2024: Submission of scores for Continuous Assessment (CA) culminates.

End of Lectures and Revision

  • Friday, June 21, 2024: The curtain closes on lectures for the semester.
  • Monday, June 24, 2024 – Friday, June 28, 2024: A period of revision is allotted, enabling students to consolidate their academic grasp.

Examination and Long Break

  • Monday, July 1, 2024: The Second Semester Examinations get underway.
  • Friday, July 26, 2024: Examinations wrap up, and the extensive Second Semester Break, lasting 11 weeks, commences.

Looking Ahead: The Next Academic Session

  • Monday, October 14, 2024: The academic curtain rises, heralding the commencement of the 2024/2025 Academic Session.

In Summary

The 2023/2024 academic calendar for Delta State University (DELSU) provides a structured guide for students. While it’s essential to stay informed of these dates, it’s equally crucial to approach each semester with dedication and determination. After all, the pursuit of academic excellence is a journey, and every step counts.

Leave a Comment